The Cache: Technology Expert's Forum

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. September 21, 2019, 01:51:47 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Stored Procedures, Best Practices...?  (Read 3985 times)
perkiset
Olde World Hacker
Administrator
Lifer

View Profile
« on: May 28, 2008, 02:10:35 PM »

I am new to architecting a system with a deep level of stored procedures, and have a lot of things I am considering. I’m hoping with this thread we can start some debate about the best practices for using this tool – considering the more current development notions (Ajax style apps particularly) as opposed to traditional arguments.

Perhaps the most public argument against is here, “Stored Procedures are Evil”
http://www.tonymarston.net/php-mysql/stored-procedures-are-evil.html

… which I find rather silly and limited in its understanding, but a good read to start you thinking in any case.

Some things I am working through (these are just a cursory set of examples):

Processing of Telemetry Data: In my retail applications, I have people watching screens that calculate the total sales volume, numbers etc for the day. This HTML page is auto-refreshed every 60 seconds and is reasonably heavy on processing resources. My thought is to have a new table, Telemetry or something equally clever, and only recalc the total sales numbers for the day when a sale occurs. Since we experience somewhere around 100 sales per day, this means that I’d be doing the update logic 100 times, as opposed to every minute for (at the very least) 3 monitoring systems. Since I’m processing the telemetry data 1430 times in my current configuration (1440 minutes per day *3) then I experience a whopping 92.9% decrease in processing by doing it only at the moment of a sale. On the down side, I burden the purchaser with the processing time of it… but this is measured in milliseconds.