The Cache: Technology Expert's Forum
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. September 20, 2019, 11:03:55 AM

Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Ubuntu 8.04 jeOS (just enough OS) LAMP Server for dummies  (Read 5554 times)
jammaster82
Lifer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 666


Thats craigs list for ya


View Profile
« on: May 08, 2008, 02:51:56 PM »

Ubuntu 8.04 jeOS (Just Enough Operating System) is 46mb download

http://www.jcinacio.com/projects/vmware-ubuntujeos-804/

it runs much faster and with LAMP stack installed is just a little
over 600mb doing fine with 256 mb ram ... ill post if it gets hairy
but it seems much smoother than klutsy fibbon so far and includes
some of the functionality my 710 jeos appliance lacked

once you login follow these commands to have your 611mb
LAMP appliance that can run in 256 megs of ram.  sweet.

Code:

sudo su

apt-get update

apt-get install ssh openssh-server

apt-get install apache2 mysql-server php5 libapache2-mod-php5 php5-xsl php5-gd php-pear libapache2-mod-auth-mysql php5-mysql

apt-get install perl libnet-ssleay-perl openssl libauthen-pam-perl libpam-runtime libio-pty-perl libmd5-perl

apt-get install phpmyadmin

apt-get install wget

wget http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/webadmin/webmin_1.370_all.deb

dpkg -i webmin_1.370_all.deb

apt-get -y --force-yes -f install proftpd

Can anyone think of anything else to throw in there?

pick standalone from proftpd install prompts

from webmin go to usermin configuration and
make sure you install usermin and
from there you can administrate just about
anything you dont know how to do in *nix

that should do ya and now you have a lamp server , voila!
Logged

The watched pot, never boils... But if you walk away from it , the soup burns.  What gives?
nutballs
Administrator
Lifer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5627


Back in my day we had 9 planets


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2008, 04:49:10 PM »

ill have to try this again on my little Shuttle XPC. Maybe it will actually work...
Logged

I could eat a bowl of Alphabet Soup and shit a better argument than that.
DangerMouse
Expert
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 244



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2008, 05:26:12 PM »

Am using gutsy JeOS on a virtual box (under windows atm) and its pretty good, if this is an improvement will have to give it a go. Although it still hasnt managed to move me away from my general WAMP stack test bed - even with a full access Samba install I find linux too much hassle.

DM
Logged
jammaster82
Lifer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 666


Thats craigs list for ya


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2008, 08:30:30 AM »

@DM:

well can you run things from a command line and get error messages
with the WAMP stack? and which wamp stack are you using?

And also in your 710jeos can you type 'which php' from the command
line and get the directory of your php interpreter or did you just
get no response and a another dir prompt (as if it did nothing) like
I did?

I find the 8.04 jeos VM to be MUCH faster than 710 with everything on same
exact computer, same ram , etc and everything has worked with almost no
finagling.

« Last Edit: May 10, 2008, 08:32:35 AM by jammaster82 » Logged

The watched pot, never boils... But if you walk away from it , the soup burns.  What gives?
dink
Expert
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 349


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2008, 11:47:26 PM »

Jammer, try 'whereis php5' instead of 'which'.

I still forget and type which now and then.  I scratch a while then remember it is has to be whereis on some systems. 
Logged

[quote Nutballs]
the universe has a giant fist, and its got enough whoop ass for everyone.
[/quote]
perkiset
Olde World Hacker
Administrator
Lifer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 10096



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: May 11, 2008, 11:00:53 AM »

dink what's wrong with [which] on your system? That's all I've ever used...
Logged

It is now believed, that after having lived in one compound with 3 wives and never leaving the house for 5 years, Bin Laden called the U.S. Navy Seals himself.
dink
Expert
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 349


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: May 11, 2008, 10:29:54 PM »

which just lays there and looks right back at me.  lol

On debian.  I think for rh it works alla time.  Worked with pclos but not with gutsy gibberish.

Logged

[quote Nutballs]
the universe has a giant fist, and its got enough whoop ass for everyone.
[/quote]
jammaster82
Lifer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 666


Thats craigs list for ya


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: May 22, 2008, 02:05:15 PM »

lol... thats what 7.10 did for me.

Btw- for the record 8.04 is running smoothly, has the which capability
and is faster and better.. Im talking runlevel 3 here ...

The GuI (Runlevel 5) is for the $hithole...  bleeding edge here and
not leading but damn if that 8.04 jeos isnt as solid as a brickhouse.

so far anyway... i should know better than to challenge murphy that way.
Logged

The watched pot, never boils... But if you walk away from it , the soup burns.  What gives?
dink
Expert
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 349


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: May 22, 2008, 04:16:17 PM »

Pretty interesting.  Methinks I'll uipgrade to 8 and see what happens.

Did you upgrade 7 to 8 or is it a fresh install?
Logged

[quote Nutballs]
the universe has a giant fist, and its got enough whoop ass for everyone.
[/quote]
serialnoob
Journeyman
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 88


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: August 11, 2010, 04:01:35 AM »

A revival attempt:
What happened to jeos since 2008 ?
Logged

Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm - Winston Churchill
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Perkiset's Place Home   Best of The Cache   phpMyIDE: MySQL Stored Procedures, Functions & Triggers
Politics @ Perkiset's   Pinkhat's Perspective   
cache
mart
coder
programmers
ajax
php
javascript
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.2 | SMF © 2006-2007, Simple Machines LLC
Seo4Smf v0.2 © Webmaster's Talks


Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!