The Cache: Technology Expert's Forum

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. September 16, 2019, 01:38:19 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: solving a problem ages later.  (Read 3228 times)
rasputin
n00b

View Profile
« on: May 24, 2010, 02:08:44 PM »

A very long time ago, almost exactly a year ago I had built a spider that scraped certain things.

I encountered a slight speedbump a year ago and wasnt able to figure out the solution...

its weird, but last night before falling asleep I randomly started thinking about it, and figured out exactly what I needed to do in my head. Im not even that expert or experienced at php, im a advanced newbie imo.

Has this happened to anyone ever?

The coding solution I thought up is also something ive never even used in programming before, its a method I just know will work.

No links in signatures please
rcjordan
Lifer

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2010, 02:37:45 PM »

Welcome to thecache, rasputin.

>happened

Yeah, it'll happen in a more timely fashion if you're really deep into a coding project.  I've known programmers who kept notepads on their bedside table because they'd wake up with a solution to a "grinder" fairly often.

You can, in fact, train yourself to purposely background process.
Phaėton
Lifer

⎝⏠⏝⏠⎠

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2010, 03:15:53 PM »

I know exactly what you mean... sometimes i just play something like this:

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=delta+waves+sleep&aq=f

with all the lights out and just meditate and let my mind wander and i get the answer.

Also i noticed the alpha waves are pretty strong right when I FIrst wake up fresh out
of a nap and if i grab the laptop and start coding, its magic for about 20 minutes..

either that or i notice my wife screaming: " WHY DO YOU ALWAYS SLEEP DURING THE DAY!?!?!"

which makes the alpha waves crawl up my butt and rot..   ROFLMAO ROFLMAO ROFLMAO