The Cache: Technology Expert's Forum
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. September 16, 2019, 09:09:18 PM

Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: PHP networking issue  (Read 3040 times)
freedom1972
Rookie
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 17


View Profile
« on: November 02, 2007, 11:16:30 AM »

Warning: fsockopen() [function.fsockopen]: php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed: Temporary failure in name resolution in /inc.xmlrpc.php on line 357

Warning: fsockopen() [function.fsockopen]: unable to connect to blogsearch.google.com:80 (Unknown error) in /inc.xmlrpc.php on line 357

apparently, this is an issue that others have identified as it relates to PHP and the configuration of your name servers on the box you are on. As I am on a virtual server, not sure what I need to ask my provider to change, or what I need to set up in my etc files to configure name server correctly. Is there a way in PHP I can set the name server to use for resolving names?i
Logged

No links in signatures please
perkiset
Olde World Hacker
Administrator
Lifer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 10096



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2007, 12:54:18 PM »

That means the the box cannot resolve the address for one reason or another. If you can SSH to the box (or whatever the windows equivalent is) try to ping out and see if it can do it... it might be that the box has some things set so that you cannot (by default) get out.
Logged

It is now believed, that after having lived in one compound with 3 wives and never leaving the house for 5 years, Bin Laden called the U.S. Navy Seals himself.
thedarkness
Lifer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 585



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2007, 02:47:12 AM »

I agree with Perk, this is either a temporary failure or a deliberate attempt to block you. If it is not a temporary failure and you want to get around it you could try something like http:// pear.php.net/manual/en/package.networking.net-dns.php to do your name resolution and then feed the IP adddress itself to your socket functions. As it is a VS you may need to do a local install of pear as per http:// pear.php.net/manual/en/installation.shared.php or maybe get your hosts to do it for you (lol, don't tell them why you need it, lol)

HTH,
td
Logged

"I want to be the guy my dog thinks I am."
 - Unknown
freedom1972
Rookie
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 17


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2007, 10:41:22 AM »

thanks guys i will get on it!
Logged

No links in signatures please
ratthing
Journeyman
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 75


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2007, 11:57:40 AM »

If your host is being cagey about allowing you to use DNS for certain functions, you can set up a local caching nameserver on your VS.  It requires little overhead, and if you are hitting the same hosts a lot, it will speed things up.  It will also protect you against short outtages (depending on how long you set the cache timeout) of your hosts name servers.  It also reduces network overhead if you have a lot of name service lookups.

There's not a lot of downside with it unless you are really up against the wall wrt resources on your box, be it VS or actual hardware.

I used to run one myself in @ my house when I had a wireless broadband provider, because their name servers crapped out periodically with no warning, even though my link was AOK.

=RT=
Logged
freedom1972
Rookie
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 17


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: November 08, 2007, 08:53:56 PM »

good idea, hadnt thought about that
Logged

No links in signatures please
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Perkiset's Place Home   Best of The Cache   phpMyIDE: MySQL Stored Procedures, Functions & Triggers
Politics @ Perkiset's   Pinkhat's Perspective   
cache
mart
coder
programmers
ajax
php
javascript
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.2 | SMF © 2006-2007, Simple Machines LLC
Seo4Smf v0.2 © Webmaster's Talks


Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!