The Cache: Technology Expert's Forum

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. October 16, 2019, 04:32:01 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
Author Topic: OK guys some help needed - PHP and mysql  (Read 8475 times)
kopkingmeister
Rookie

View Profile
« on: July 08, 2008, 03:33:58 AM »

Hey

As I said in my initial post in the welcome section I am a complete newbie when it comes to coding php and mysql and do not have the slightest idea as to where to start, however I want to build something for one of my WH sites.

Basically I have a discount codes website based on wordpress which I am going to revamp and make more like a cms - I believe I can do this through the use of some plug ins and so on - however the big issue I have is that if I carry on as I have been doing which is displaying the discount code on the site then people will just get the code and go directly to the retailer - without using my aff link.

I could be naughty and stuff cookies - which I don't want to do in this instance so instead I want to do the following:

Have a use promo button on my post / page - this will then open another browser window or tab within which the merchant site is loaded - however over the top of the merchant site (and using css / js) I will display a 'pop up' with the promo code inserted in there - this means people can only get the code once the cookie has been dropped on opening of the merchant site.

I have the code for the css and js already so can do that part but the bit I am struggling with is the dynamic generation of the content to insert into that 'pop up' etc

So here is what I am thinking that I need:

A password protected admin section on my site
In this area I am able to enter  -through a web based form - certain pieces of information such as meta keywords, voucher details, actual promo code etc
This data is then written to a DB and has a unique reference