The Cache: Technology Expert's Forum

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. September 18, 2019, 12:50:01 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Database error logging  (Read 2952 times)
sysbuilder
Rookie

View Profile
« on: May 05, 2008, 11:53:43 PM »

So I'm a pretty big newbie when it comes to error handling, but I'm learning. I have a basic site creator system setup right now, and I envision implementing a method of error logging where serious errors are logged into a database for me to check and address later.

I've been looking over the PHP error handling functions - in your opinion, do you think this type of database error logging could be successfully done with the function set_error_handler and a custom-made error function that connects to the database, or is there a better way to go about it?

Thanks for any insight in this matter. Smiley

No links in signatures please
DangerMouse
Expert

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2008, 02:36:22 AM »

You don't mention what PHP version you're running?

I'm not familiar with Set_Error_Handler(), however I've considered using a similar system with Exceptions, I've just not got around to it yet.

I'm planning on subclassing Exception and in the __Construct() method including a call to an error logging class, then backing this up with a custom exception handling (Set_Exception_Handler()) function that again calls the logging object.

DM
perkiset
Olde World Hacker
Administrator
Lifer

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2008, 07:16:17 AM »

using a try/except methodology will be superior because it's more common in languages today - and your experience with PHP and try/except will be roughly transportable anywhere you go.

Additionally, try/except allows you to easily build in hierarchical error handling and recovery, which would be much more difficult to consistently deploy with an error handler method.