The Cache: Technology Expert's Forum
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. September 18, 2019, 11:14:50 PM

Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: question regarding scripting  (Read 4590 times)
jubegnx
Rookie
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 17


View Profile
« on: June 20, 2007, 05:41:38 PM »

hello all,

my question is how do i prevent mechanize from eating ram viciously?

i've only been messing around with perl for a month or two and i wrote a few scripts that automate some sites and when i run them i noticed it takes 15min to eat the 512mb of ram

i'm sure that its the way i wrote the scripts its just that i don't know what i did wrong.. i compared them to other ones available out there and mine look retarded lol, a million if else statements etc... but there is no errors.

any advice?
Logged

No links in signatures please
dirk
Global Moderator
Expert
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 416


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2007, 05:54:41 PM »

Hi jubegnx,

that's not easy to answer without knowing the code.

Maybe your arrays are not emptied. If you could give some more code details
or send me the code I would check it.

Dirk
Logged
jubegnx
Rookie
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 17


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2007, 06:13:22 PM »

ok i'm in the middle of trying to fix some things, when i'm done i'm going to run it one last time and then il send it over... thanks
Logged

No links in signatures please
JasonD
Expert
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 100


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2007, 02:37:57 AM »

Make sure you clean the history.

Most people forget that Mech has a real history function (backwards, forwards, reload etc.) so that is what consumes the memory
Logged
jubegnx
Rookie
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 17


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: June 21, 2007, 07:23:08 PM »

hey dirk, i tried the stack_depth option but now i cant run more than one instance of the script and also it doesn't fully finish the cycles?

** actually it stops within minutes of starting
« Last Edit: June 21, 2007, 07:25:10 PM by jubegnx » Logged

No links in signatures please
dirk
Global Moderator
Expert
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 416


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: June 21, 2007, 08:07:51 PM »

Have you tried to use different values for stack_depth?
Logged
jubegnx
Rookie
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 17


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: June 22, 2007, 11:08:32 AM »

my mistake, yep the value 1 works i ran 10 instances of the script and it was fine finished the whole thing without running out of memory...

thanks
Logged

No links in signatures please
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Perkiset's Place Home   Best of The Cache   phpMyIDE: MySQL Stored Procedures, Functions & Triggers
Politics @ Perkiset's   Pinkhat's Perspective   
cache
mart
coder
programmers
ajax
php
javascript
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.2 | SMF © 2006-2007, Simple Machines LLC
Seo4Smf v0.2 © Webmaster's Talks


Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!