Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Ruby  (Read 3570 times)
kurdt
Lifer

paha arkkitehti

View Profile
« on: April 06, 2010, 11:57:56 AM »

I'm reading The Ruby Programming Language book. I'm only 100 pages in and I have no previous experience with Ruby so I'm no expert yet. And to be clear, I'm talking about Ruby, not Ruby on Rails.

But it seems that's there's some truth to Ruby's "Programmer's best friend" slogan. It seems Matz (the guy who's behind Ruby) has truly created something awesome. Ruby is faster than PHP and it does a lot more. After 100 pages it seems that if desktop computer is C, laptop is .NET and iphone is PHP, Ruby is ipad. It's similar mix of niceties of scripting language and powerfulness of more low level languages like C.

I'm still learning but it seems pretty awesome language... will report when I have actual coding experience Smiley

I met god and he had nothing to say to me.
isthisthingon
Global Moderator
Lifer

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2010, 12:19:15 PM »

Ruby is beautiful, and far less dangerous in the hands of the experienced.  However, like other scripting languages, Ruby has areas where performance problems preclude previously preferred programming practices, otherwise known as the 7Ps.  Anyone who knows anything about programming knows about the seven Ps, FFS.

One area of concern is threading.  Threads in Ruby are dreadfully expensive and should be called ropes.  They're still great to have, but they're not ideal in terms of larger scaling architectures.  But as I've mentioned in the past, employing a non-blocking, evented approach to highly scalable architectures (nested callback or Reactor pattern approach) offsets this thread performance loss.

PS: I was kidding about the 7Ps, however I laughed when I googled it: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/7_Ps_%28military_adage%29

I would love to change the world, but they won't give me the source code.
kurdt
Lifer

paha arkkitehti

View Profile