The Cache: Technology Expert's Forum

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. September 18, 2019, 12:49:51 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Java n00b - looking for good resources  (Read 4993 times)
iSully
n00b

View Profile
« on: April 28, 2008, 12:49:33 AM »

Hi all,

I am new to the programing world.  I have been doing alot of research and have found that Java is the most stable still to have and once learned there are other avenues to branch to.  I was just looking for some advice as to if I have made the correct choice and if I have; what good resources are there?  To start learning I have just installed xCode on my PowerBook G4 and I have purchased O'Riley's Head Start Java book.  I look forward to hearing from all of the great advice that is available here.

Sully

No links in signatures please
perkiset
Olde World Hacker
Administrator
Lifer

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2008, 09:43:02 AM »

I am new to the programing world.  I have been doing alot of research and have found that Java is the most stable still to have and once learned there are other avenues to branch to.
You'd better quote your source on that... I'd assert that Java is both A) nominally stable, not exceptional and B) only as stable as your programming skills in general, just as any language would be.

IMO, Java is NOT a good language to start with, because there are so very many different frameworks, methodologies and such that will take you in directions that seem important at the time, but do not really forward your programming skills much.