The Cache: Technology Expert's Forum

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. September 23, 2019, 10:23:26 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: C/C++/C# where to start?  (Read 5393 times)
ksan
Rookie

View Profile
« on: November 24, 2009, 10:06:27 AM »

I've done everything in PHP up until now and think I am at an intermediate level. Due to speed and scalability though I would like to move to a "real" language.
I have no experience in server administration or anything unix, so I guess there is a lot of learning to be done. Can you recommend any good resource for learning C and the likes? Either books or websites are fine.
Thanks guys!

No links in signatures please
perkiset
Olde World Hacker
Administrator
Lifer

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2009, 10:17:34 AM »

C++.

But don't be confused into the notion that PHP is not a "real" language. It is enormously powerful and can be tweaked for lotsa more power. Simply look up APC for PHP, install it and you'll see what I mean. Additionally, don't think that just because you're in a compiled language, that crappy coding will make it better. Crap is crap.

The reason to extend into C/C++ would be because there is either something missing from PHP (or your current tool of choice), or you are required to for a project, or simply to grow yourself. Unless you're doing drivers or high-end/high-speed processing apps to be run locally on a machine, there's nothing that PHP is not going to do for you. And if we consider the browser as your view portal, then the backend language is immaterial. To grow your chops, you might consider learning JS really top to bottom and then invest yourself in an AJAX methodology, which is way more contemporary and forward thinking than C++.