The Cache: Technology Expert's Forum

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. September 19, 2019, 02:47:06 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Something ike array_diff - but faster  (Read 10364 times)
walrus
Rookie

View Profile
« on: May 29, 2009, 05:28:05 AM »

I have ~1.000.000 urls in a sql table, I'll call this the url blacklist (and it's always growing).

I also have a few thousand urls (<10.000) I have to check against this blacklist at regular time intervals and keep just the ones that aren't already in the blacklist.

Besides from the array_diff php function, I've tried some basic sql queries to do this, but it all takes too long and uses too much cpu imo.

I'm sure there's a smarter way to do this, using less resources, but I'm not good at more complex sql queries.
isthisthingon
Global Moderator
Lifer

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2009, 09:31:25 AM »

walrus,

There's lots of things you can do here but I don't know how your environment is configured, hardware, etc. but here's a few thoughts initially:

• Make sure your sql environment has all the RAM it needs (mysql I'm assuming) by configuring it into your instance.
  • Since this large list is always used and growing, consider loading the table or entire database into its own RAM drive.