The Cache: Technology Expert's Forum

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. September 23, 2019, 02:01:29 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: MySQL Stored Procedure Function Trigger with PHP  (Read 10382 times)
perkiset
Olde World Hacker
Administrator
Lifer

View Profile
« on: May 16, 2008, 05:53:45 PM »

I'm working on a new personal project to support coding stored procedures, functions and triggers in MySQL.

Since I'm new to a lot of it, I searched for examples of how to create, maintain and execute these procedures and found that the most common examples lead you to this sort of this:

Code:
DELIMITER$$

DROP PROCEDURE IF EXISTS HelloWorld$$
CREATE PROCEDURE HelloWorld()
BEGIN
SELECT 'Hello World!';
END$$

While this looks quite reasonable and the explanations about why you do things this way seemed straightforward, I ran into little issues that were stoppers and could not find anywhere on the web that simply wrapped up how to do this in PHP with the old mysql_ functions. So here it is.

First Issue: I'd get an error like this:
You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'DELIMITER $$' at line 1You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'DELIMITER $$' at line 1

I could not ever find a reasonable solution as to why this is an unknown command. Some sites say that it is not in the MySQL definition - it's a client thang, but the MySQL documentation specifically claims that it is, here: http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/en/mysql-commands.html

Here's the deal: you would issue the DELIMITER command so that you can issue multiple statements to MySQL ie., the DELETE IF EXISTS command and then the CREATE command. The most simple fix for this is simply to not do this as a compound command. Do it in PHP like this:

Code:
<?php